2017-05-19 / Local

NH DAR recognizes award winners at spring conference

CONCORD, N.H. —  The New Hampshire State Organization Daughters of the American Revolution recognized several award winners at the 116th State Conference on April 29-30, 2017.
State Regent Wendy Stanley Jones of Greenland presided over the two-day conference. Honored guests were NSDAR Librarian General Patricia Musick Hatfield of Virginia and Maine State Regent Elizabeth Blake Hotchkiss.
Several students from across New Hampshire were recognized for their winning essays. Molly Della Valla, a homeschooled 5th grade student from Jackson, New Hampshire, Benjamin Doherty of Jackson Grammar School, Sean Tracy of Lempster Community School and Abigael Rasmussen of Newport Middle High School were presented with the American History Essay Award. Haley Donovan of Timberlane Regional High School was presented as the Christopher Columbus Essay Winner for the State of New Hampshire.
State Scholarship Committee Chairman Marilyn Huston of Keene presented two DAR Scholarships to Jacqueline Cardin of Memorial High School in Manchester, and Jessica Viel of Nute High School in Milton.
Children of Fallen Patriots of NH chair Jay Lucas, announced of the collaboration between his group and New Hampshire DAR to include scholarship information in New Hampshire scholarship program which will award full scholarships to qualified NH students. The program will work through State Scholarship Committee Chair Marilyn Huston. 
 State Chairman Pamela Lee of West Lebanon presented several awards on behalf of the DAR Service to Veterans Committee. The Outstanding Veteran Volunteer Award was presented to Mike Gagne of the Liberty House, and the Outstanding Youth Volunteer Award was presented to Erik Voloshin of Bedford High School, who also received the Northeast award from Northeast Division chair Phyllis Gagnon. Trish Jackson of Derry was awarded the Outstanding DAR Service for Veterans Award. 
On Sunday morning, State Historian Lorie Greenwood of Lebanon presented the Outstanding Teacher of American History Award to Scott Fowler. Fowler is a 5th grade teacher at Swasey Central School in Brentwood. Fowler was recognized for his instruction of the American Revolution through using historical reenactors from the Dearborn Company to bring the Revolution to life for his students. 
The Junior American Citizen Award was presented to Benjamin Mann of Newmarket Elementary School, who won both state and Northeast Division awards for his poster. 
Matt Mayberry, keynote speaker for Saturday night, was awarded National Society Daughters of the American Revolutions Community Service Award for his work highlighting the concerns and work with veterans related to suicide. Mayberry is a decorated Air Force veteran who has volunteered many years in support of veterans.
Known as the largest women’s service organization in the world, DAR has over 180,000 members with approximately 3,000 chapters in all 50 states and 13 foreign countries. The DAR has long promoted patriotism through commemorative celebrations, memorials, scholarships and activities for children, and programs for new immigrants. For more information about DAR or to contribute to the Investing in Independence project, visit http://nhsodar.org or http://dar.org.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2017-05-19 digital edition