CLAREMONT — Saturday, June 8th, was not just another day, it was the kick-off to Stevens Alumni Weekend festivities.

Mother Nature sent one of her gorgeous days for the “71st annual parade. Dick Girard and his crew were out early marking off more than 50 spaces for floats, bands, fife and drum units, horses, Bektash participants and cars. This takes time, patience and volunteers to make it work with little confusion.

The parade kicked off with units falling into place as it moved down Broad Street with spectators lining the streets on both sides of the parade route.

Five-year floats, trams and cars from 1949 through the graduating Class of 2019 participated.

With a parade theme of Vintage Advertising Slogans there were many amazing floats from which to choose. It was very difficult to choose the five winners to receive a trophy. To all the five-year classes, thank you for helping to make parade day 2019 another “Stevens Alumni Day to Remember,” a spokesperson said.

The following parade trophy winners were chosen:

The Alumni Memorial Trophy, Class of 1974, “Campbells Soup mmm mmm Good,” sponsored by LaValley’s Building Supply with a $200 cash prize.

Klara Hornick Trophy. Class of 1994. “Tootsie Roll Pop How Many Licks to the Center, ” sponsored by Golden Cross Ambulance with a $200 cash prize.

The Wayne S. Gray Trophy, Class of 1979, “Toy’s R US USA,” sponsored by Stringer Funeral Home with a $200 cash prize.

Frederick Carr School Spirit Trophy, Class of 1969 ,“Timex Takes a Lickin Keeps on Tickin,” sponsored by National Field Rep with a $200 cash prize.

George F. Disnard Trophy, Class of 1989, “Dunkin Donuts Time to Make the Donuts,” sponsored by The Insurance Center with a $200 cash prize.

The Chamber of Commerce Trophy went to Class of 1964, “Mixed Vintage Signs and Slogans.”

Following the parade, the annual meeting and luncheon was well attended with a buffet catered by the Women of the Moose featuring finger rolls, potato salad, macaroni salad, fruit and all the fixings from which to choose.

At the annual meeting officers were voted in for the 2019-20 year.


President, Douglas LeBlanc '63

First vice president, Richard Girard '61

Second vice president, Mary Picknell Woodman '61

Secretary, Janet Mower Eno '62

Treasurer, Carolyn Bowles LeBlanc '62

Executive Board

Barbara Young Ferland '57

Beverly Hanks Janelle '53

Denise Mozden Liveston '70

Cameron Williams '10

Robert Stringer '61

Nominating Committee

Heather Girard '06

Elyse Gagnon Crossman '06

Denise Mozden Liveston '70

In Memoriam

Janet Mower Eno '62

The date for the 2020 Stevens Alumni Weekend is set for June 13, 2020, and the theme will be “Board Games.”

More than 270 attended the annual banquet. Dinner was catered by Country Kitchen of Newport under the new ownership of Tonya Gibbs, with Yankee Pot Roast. There were many positive compliments expressed about the caterer.

Barbara Hoopis Decook, '46, received the gift for the oldest attending alumni member and also holds the distinct honor of having attended 73 consecutive reunion banquets.

Gary Gardner '69 from Sacramento, Calif., received the gift for traveling from the furthest distance.

Rector Priscilla Hull accepted the alumni invitation to attend and gave the Invocation and Benediction.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the scholarship awards to 74 post grad students and Class of 2019 graduates for a total amount of $107,700.

The following post grad students received awards with Currier Perpetual Scholarships:

2015—Ruth Ramjit, Tre Robidoux

2016—Collin Belt, Sarah Mullen, Hans Schneider

2017—Timothy Berry, Robert (Alex) Carpia, Logan Bonneau, Sierra Meunier, Dylan Sabalewski, Michael Miller, Alexis Parliman, Jennie Morey

2018—Drew Grenier, Bradon Jarvis, Jacob Rider, Taya Simmons, Nicholas Stone, Courtney Gallow, L. Amber Duford, Elyse Scott, Emilee Vivian

Rosinski Family Scholarship

Kyle Greene, Rebecca Moody

Class of 2019 Scholarship Recipients

Jessica Powers presented the Barbara G. Richards Business Scholarship Award to Abigail Miller.

Connie Kincaid-Brown presented the Duncan Littlefield Music Scholarship to Dean Ferland.

Stevens High School Alumni Memorial Scholarships

Alyssa Alberto, Hannah Costa, Jennifer Currier, Julianna Davis, Isaiah Forrest, Taelor MacDonald, Emily Currier.

The following scholarships are in memory of the named scholarship and some are supplemented by the original memorial fund.

Karsten Kleyensteuber, Guy K.C. Wilson Scholarship

Ryann Rider, Frederick W. Carr Scholarship

Hannah Lee, Class of 1935 Scholarship

Andrew Friend, 2017, and Emma Shea, 2017. Class of1945 Memorial Scholarship

Colby Hussey, 2017, Class of 1950 Memorial Scholarship

Jazmyn Griffin, 2017, Class of 1951 In Memory of Beryl McLin Garneau

Alaina Bandanza, 2016, Class of 1954 In Memory of Beverly Bonneville Michaud

Aidan Cahill, 2018, Alyson Lizotte, 2016, Class of 1961 Scholarships

Haydan Parker, 2016, Nate Treadway, 2017, Class of 1962 Anonymous Donor Scholarships

Mitchell Paquette, 2018, Class of 1981 Scholarship

Sydney Bellimer, 2016, The Piwowar Blicharz Scholarship and The Joseph Rosinski Memorial Scholarship

Ryan Shackett, 2016, Jack Fitzpatrick, 2017, Cody Schoolcraft, 2017, Ethan Sweet, 2017, Stevens High School Alumni Memorial

Savanna Callum, SHS Class of 1937 Scholarship

Cameron Eaton, Dennis Prudhomme Scholarship and SHS Alumni Memorial

Raegan Burt, Rosinski Family Memorial

Ashlyn Marsh, Rosinski Family Memorial

Sarah Ruest, Rosinski Family Memorial and the Paran Stevens Music Award

Matthew Szelangowski, SHS Memorial and Class of 1965 Anonymous Cash Award

Ian Fitzpatrick, Mike Brousseau and SHS Alumni

Dean Ferland, Dorothy Judd Goodhue Memorial

Kaitlyn Chambers, Marie McCarthy Grenier Scholarship

Ethan Johnson, Walter Paskevich Music Scholarship

Audrey Puksta, Milford Osgood Memorial Scholarship

Tryanna Liolis, Class of 1958 Memorial Scholarship

Logan Heino, Class of 1964 Memorial Scholarship

Ashlee Brown, Donald James Rollins Class of 1972 Award and SHS Memorial

Brooke Bonneau, Bud and Bucky Tucker Memorial

Madeline Ferland and Brandon Perry, Samuel E. Heller Family Memorial Scholarship

Leeann McCarthy, Robert Hughes Scholarship

Abigail Miller, Robert B. Averill Scholarship

Hailey LaClair, Magoon-Paquette Scholarships

Julia Belaire, “Queeney” Quimby Scholarship

Jesse Baril, Steve Doody Memorial Scholarship

Sophie Foote, Rotary Club/Jeff Patten Memorial

Amilia Parizo and Maddie Vaine both received the Class of 1962 Anonymous Donor Awards

Mike Cahill, on behalf of the Class of 1989 on its 30th reunion, presented two scholarships to Hannah Lee and Reagan Burt.

So ends the Stevens Alumni 148thhReunion Weekend and now its on to 2020 and the 149th Reunion for this, the “Oldest Active High School Alumni Association in the Country.”

If anyone has thoughts or ideas to help this organization stay active, do not hesitate to contact us at (603) 542-8987.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.
Allow up to 24 hours for comment approval.